Many Eastern North Carolina counties now have until Wednesday to register to vote, according to North Carolina State Board of Elections.

According to the late Friday announcement, Wake County Superior Court Judge Donald Stephens ordered that the voter registration deadline be extended until close of business Wednesday in 36 counties receiving assistance from FEMA following Hurricane Matthew.

Those counties include Onslow, Carteret, Duplin, Jones, Lenoir, Craven, New Hanover and Pender.

You can register in person at the Board of Elections Office, 4024 Richlands Hwy. in Jacksonville, any public library, and the Department of Motor Vehicles. You can also register by mail by picking up a voter registration form at any library, town hall, or the elections office. Bring a current and valid photo ID or a document that shows the voter’s name and address. A voter registration will allow you to vote in national, state and local elections.