It now costs some more to fish.


It now costs some more to fish.



The fee for a Recreational Commercial Gear License rose by 25 percent effective Aug. 1, the N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries announced.



The fee for the annual license for North Carolina residents went from $35 to $43.75 and the fee for out-of-state residents went from $250 to $312.50.



North Carolina law requires fishermen to hold a Recreational Commercial Gear License to use commercial gear, such as gill nets, for recreational purposes.



According to the Division, the increases are part of a number of license fee increases approved in this year’s state budget to help support the N.C. Division of Marine Fisheries Observer Program.



The observer program collects at-sea information about commercial and recreational catches, including information on discards.



Increases in fees for commercial fishing licenses and permits approved in the state budget will occur at a later date when fiscal 2015 licenses go on sale.



For more information, contact division License and Statistics Section Chief Don Hesselman at 252-808-8099 or Don.Hesselman@ncdenr.gov.